Petra Cvelbar

New Large Unit Album Now Available for Pre-Order

Large Unit‘s new album "Fluku" is now available for pre-order from PNL Records’ Bandcamp! You get 1 track now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album on October 13, 2017.

Instagram / Facebook / Twitter

Norwegian drummer Paal Nilssen-Love's big band Large Unit returns with its third album, following the monster multi-disc statement "Erta Ale" in 2014 and last year's "ANA" (which incorporated an expanded line-up of Brazilian musicians/influences). "Fluku" finds the band scaled down to its 12-member core, and can perhaps be seen as the first "regular" Large Unit album, although there is never anything regular about this constantly evolving band. "Fluku" was recorded in Oslo in 2016, and unlike "ANA", which was recorded in the middle of a frenzied year of extensive touring (as documented in the "2015" tour photo-book/2CD set), this is a document of a band confident in themselves, with members not just following the band leader's guidance, but as also letting their individual voices contribute to the whole. New to the line-up is sax player Kristoffer Berre Alberts, expanding and giving the band a more present front section. The album's centerpiece is the 26-minute long opening title track, which shows a new side of Nilssen-Love as a composer, working with orchestrating and voicing of chords in a way that will surprise those who have followed the band from the beginning. The track will also become a benchmark for guitarist Ketil Gutvik, who displays an impressive range, with traces of both Sharrock and McLaughlin in his playing. Another standout is the track "Springsummer", which could almost be called a ballad. "Fluku" shows that Large Unit isn't a short-lived big band vanity project. Large Unit is a band that's here to stay, and they've got a lot more up their sleeves.

Personnel: Julie Kjær alto saxophone and flute; Klaus Ellerhusen Holm Bb clarinet, alto and baritone saxophone; Kristoffer Berre Alberts alto and tenor saxophone; Thomas Johansson trumpet; Mats Äleklint trombone; Per Åke Holmlander tuba; Ketil Gutvik electric guitar; Tommi Keränen electronics; Jon Rune Strøm electric and double bass; Christian Meaas Svendsen electric and double bass; Andreas Wildhagen drums and percussion; Paal Nilssen-Love drums and percussion; Christian Brynildsen Obermayer live sound.

Tags: Large Unit, Fluku, PNL Records, Julie Kjær, Klaus Ellerhusen Holm, Kristoffer Berre Alberts, Thomas Johansson, Mats Äleklint, Per Åke Holmlander, Ketil Gutvik, Tommi Keränen, Jon Rune Strøm, Christian Meaas Svendsen, Andreas Wildhagen, Christian Brynildsen Obermayer, Paal Nilssen-Love
Share this page: